Professional Advisory Group

The Professional Advisory Group was established in September 2018 to work alongside the now-disestablished Ministerial Advisory Group to provide advice to the Minister of Education and the Ministry of Education on the NCEA Review.

The Professional Advisory Group comprises current and former principals and teachers with technical expertise and deep knowledge of the sector.

Roger Moses (Chair)

Roger is former Headmaster of Wellington College, a post which he held for nearly 23 years. During his time as Headmaster, he was a member of the Greater Wellington Secondary Schools Principals’ Association, on the executive of SPANZ and, for nine years, Chairman of the Association of Boys’ Schools of New Zealand. In 2001, Roger was awarded a Woolf Fisher Scholarship which enabled him to travel and research schools in the United States and England. In 2009, he was awarded an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit (ONZM) for services to education. In 2015, he was chosen as Wellingtonian of the Year (in education), and in 2018 he was given an Absolutely Positively Wellington award by the Wellington City Council for services to the city. He was made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2020.

Melanie Webber

Melanie Webber is a Media Studies teacher and Co-Head of House - Atea at Western Springs College - Ngā Puna o Waiōrea and will be the PPTA President from 2021. Melanie has been in teaching for ten years, before which she worked in the media industry. Melanie is a member of the Secondary Qualifications Advisory Group and is a member of the NCEA Review Reference Group.

Deidre Shea

Deidre Shea is the Principal of Onehunga High School and was a member of the NCEA Review Reference Group. She was awarded sabbaticals in 2012 and 2016 to investigate models of mentoring, and effective teaching and learning environments, respectively. Deidre was elected President of the Secondary Principals' Association of New Zealand (SPANZ) in 2019 and re-elected for a second term in 2020.

Natalie Faitala

Natalie Faitala has been teaching in the secondary sector for the past 20 years and is currently the Head of Department English at Wesley College. Natalie published her Masters research in 2013, which focused on the impact of English literacy requirements on Pasifika students making choices about subjects and tertiary study. She is a member of NZQA Taupulega - NZQA Pacific Advisory Group, the Post Primary Teachers' Association, Middle Leaders Advisory Committee, the English Subject Expert Group for the Review of Achievement Standards, and a lead teacher for the Ministry of Education's Talanoa Ako - Pacific Parent Education Programme. She taught at Tereora College, the National College of the Cook Islands, before she began teaching in New Zealand, and serves as the Secretary for the Cook Islands Teachers and Educators Collective Aotearoa.

Louise Anaru

Louise Anaru is the Principal at Kaitaia College. She was former Principal at Flaxmere College – Te Kareti o Paharakeke and the Lead Principal of her local Community of Learning – Te Waka o Māramatanga Kāhui Ako. She affiliates to Ngāpuhi and Te Rawawa. Flaxmere College saw significant increases in NCEA Level 2 and 3 attainment between 2014 and 2016, including an increase in Māori Level 3 attainment from 13.2 per cent to 38.3 per cent. In 2018, Flaxmere College won the Supreme Award at the Prime Minister’s Excellence Awards. Louise has been actively involved in the National Aspiring Principals Programme and First-time Principals Programme as a Beginning Principal Mentor.

Campbell Dews

Campbell Dewes is a foundation parent, teacher and now Tumuaki of Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Kawakawa mai Tawhiti, in Wharekahika, Ngāti Porou. He is of Ngāti Porou and Te Arawa descent. Campbell has been a Principal since 2006 and is a strong advocate for Kura Kaupapa Māori Te Aho Matua.

Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Kawakawa mai Tawhiti annually exceeds the national and Tairāwhiti region averages for achievement by Māori students in NCEA levels 1,2,3 and University Entrance qualifications.

Sophie Tukukino

Sophie Tukukino is a descendant of Ngāti Tamaterā, Rongomaiwahine and Ngāti Kahungunu. She has been the Tumuaki of Te Kura Māori o Porirua since its establishment in 2001. She currently mentors new and aspiring tumuaki, and has designed and implemented successful bilingual and immersion programmes in wānanga, kura ā iwi and general stream schools.  Sophie is a founding member of Ngā Kura ā Iwi o Aotearoa and has served on a number of Boards and committees, including Te Akatea (New Zealand Māori Principal's Association), the New Zealand Educational Institute (NZEI Te Riu Roa) and Ngā Manu Kōrero Regional & National Committees.